SCO CFM meeting commences today

By Monitoring Desk
Tuesday – May 21, 2019
ISLAMABAD: The Shanghai Cooperation Organisation (SCO) Council of Foreign Ministers (CFM) meeting commences today, in Kyrgyzstani capital Bishkek, whereat Pakistani foreign minister Shah Mahmood Qureshi is all set to lead the Pakistan delegation.

According to official statements on Monday, foreign minister Qureshi will deliver remarks at the plenary session and is also expected to hold bilateral meetings with member States foreign ministers/secretaries as well as with the SCO secretary general.

Indian foreign minister Sushma Swaraj will also be attending the meeting and that it will be the second time that an Indian foreign minister attends the CFM meeting as a full SCO member.

India actively took part in various SCO dialogue mechanisms under the chairmanship of the Kyrgyz Republic over the past year.

The CFM meeting will review the preparations for the forthcoming SCO summit in Bishkek on June 13-14, 2019 and also exchange views on topical issues of international and regional importance.

Indian foreign minister Swaraj is also expected to accompany in a joint call of SCO foreign ministers on Kyrgyz president Sooranbay Jeenbekov.

In last CFM meeting on April 24, 2018, hosted in Chinese capital Beijing, the foreign ministers of Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Pakistan, Russia, Tajikistan and Uzbekistan reaffirmed their support for China’s Belt and Road initiative and called for using the capabilities of regional States, international organisations and multilateral bodies to build a broad, inclusive, mutually beneficial and equal partnership within the SCO.

It is the duty of SCO CFM to consider issues related to day-today activities of the organisation, preparation of meetings of the Council of Heads of State and holding of consultations on international problems within the organisation. The Council may, as appropriate, make statements on behalf of SCO.

The SCO comprises 8 member states, namely the Republic of India, the Republic of Kazakhstan, the People’s Republic of China, the Kyrgyz Republic, the Islamic Republic of Pakistan, the Russian Federation, the Republic of Tajikistan, and the Republic of Uzbekistan.

The SCO counts four observer States, namely the Islamic Republic of Afghanistan, the Republic of Belarus, the Islamic Republic of Iran and the Republic of Mongolia.

The SCO has 6 dialogue partners, namely the Republic of Azerbaijan, the Republic of Armenia, the Kingdom of Cambodia, the Federal Democratic Republic of Nepal, the Republic of Turkey, and the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka.