Pakistan assures APHC of “complete support”

By Staff Reporter
Thursday – April 5, 2018
ISLAMABAD: Prime minister (PM) Shahid Khaqan Abbasi met with representatives of all parties hurriyat conference (APHC) at Muzaffarabad in Azad Jammu and Kashmir (AJK) on Wednesday, Abbasi assured that the government, people and all political parties of Pakistan will continue to vigorously provide moral, diplomatic and political support to the Kashmir cause.

According to an official statement, representatives of APHC thanked Abbasi for meeting them and highlighting the human rights’ violations in the Indian occupied Kashmir (IOK).

They highlighted that the diplomatic efforts need to be enhanced to sensitise international community. Abbasi said that the government and people of Pakistan have always supported the implementation of united nations (UN) security council (UNSC) resolutions that call for right of self-determination to the people of Kashmir.

He held that himself and his cabinet members are here to express solidarity with the people of Kashmir. All political parties are united on the Kashmir issue. We strongly condemn the brutalities inflicted by Indian forces on innocent and unarmed people of Kashmir, PM added.

Abbasi said that Pakistan’s foreign office (FO) and all diplomatic missions abroad are at all times propagating for the implementation of the UNSC resolutions on Kashmir. “I myself have highlighted the Kashmir issue in all my meetings at UN and organisation of Islamic cooperation (OIC)”, PM stated.

Abbasi appreciated the efforts and sacrifices of APHC for continuously highlighting the human rights’ violations and putting a brave resistance to the Indian atrocities. He informed that the government of Pakistan will send envoys to 6 important capitals to highlight the brutalities of Indian forces.

The meeting was attended by foreign minister Khawaja Muhammad Asif, Kashmir affairs minister Chaudhry Barjees Tahir, climate change minister Mushahidullah Khan, defence production minister Rana Tanveer, human rights minister Mumtaz Ahmad Tarar and chairman of the special committee of the parliament on Kashmir Maulana Fazl-ur-Rehman.

AJK president Sardar Masood Khan, AJK prime minister Raja Muhammad Farooq Haider Khan, AJK legislative assembly speaker Shah Ghulam Qadir and senior officials were present.

Hurriyat conference representatives included Ghulam Muhammad Safi, Syed Faiz Naqshbandi, Mehmood Ahmed Saghar, Syed Ejaz Rehmani, Shamim Shaal and Ishtiaq Hameed.