NSC condemns the “unending genocide” in IOK

By Staff Reporter
Thursday – April 5, 2018
ISLAMABAD: Prime minister (PM) Shahid Khaqan Abbasi chaired the 20th meeting of the national security committee (NSC) on Wednesday, the committee condemned the recent reign of terror unleashed by the Indian security forces in Indian occupied Kashmir (IOK), which has resulted in the “martyrdom of 20 innocent civilians” and “lethal injuries to hundreds” of innocent men, women and children.

According to an official statement, the continued inhuman and incessant use of pellet guns against innocent protestors and funeral processions by Indian occupation forces has once again resulted in injuries to hundreds and blinding of scores of Kashmiris.

The NSC praised the extraordinary courage and resilience of Kashmiri people in the face of Indian brutalities, gross and systematic violations of all their human rights.

The committee observed that the indigenous character of this uprising in IOK has once again belied the false propaganda of the Indian government.

The NSC reiterated Pakistan’s commitment to political, diplomatic and moral support for the people of IOK in their just and legitimate struggle for their right to self-determination, also promised to them by the unanimous resolutions of the united nations (UN) security council.

The Committee decided to raise the issue of unprecedented Indian brutalities at both bilateral and multilateral fora. The NSC reviewed the broader regional situation and expressed satisfaction over the role that Pakistan continues to play for peace and stability.

The meeting was attended by foreign minister Khawaja Muhammad Asif, interior minister Ahsan Iqbal, adviser to the PM on finance, revenue and economic affairs Miftah Ismail, joint chiefs of staff committee (JCSC) chairman general Zubair Mahmood Hayat, chief of army staff (COAS) general Qamar Javed Bajwa, chief of naval staff (CNS) admiral Zafar Mahmood Abbasi, chief of air staff (CAS) air chief marshal Mujahid Anwar Khan, inter services intelligence (ISI) director general (DG) lieutenant general Naveed Mukhtar, national security adviser (NSA) lieutenant general (R) Nasser Khan Janjua and senior civilian and military officials.