Lawmakers visit north Waziristan agency

Staff Report
RAWALPINDI: The national assembly (NA) and senate standing committees on defence, on Wednesday, visited Miranshah, headquarters of north Waziristan agency (NWA), under the chairmanship of member NA (MNA) Shaikh Rohale Asghar and senator Mushahid Hussain Sayed, whereat they were briefed about operations conducted in NWA, Pak-Afghan border security measures and socio-economic projects undertaken for the local population.

According to detail, the delegates welcomed by 7-division general officer commanding (GOC) major general Azhar along with other senior officers of Pak Army detailed the lawmakers on the geographical position of the area, border management, rehabilitation and socio economic uplift in the NWA.

It was informed that 100 kilometres (KM) fence has already been completed out of total 830 KM, on Pak-Afghan border, and that the remaining will be completed by 2019.

It was further informed that solar light along with closed circuit television (CCTV) cameras will also be installed along the fence for effective monitoring of the cross border terrorism on Pak Afghan border.

After briefing the committees visited the model village and the newly constructed market by Pak Army and also the Younas Khan sports complex at Miranshah.

It was informed that about 1,500 shops have already been completed on the place of the old bazaar of Miranshah and will be handed over to the locals very soon.

The lawmakers appreciated the Pak Army on development works and on successfully clearing the area from the terrorists.

The lawmakers visited the forward post on Pak Afghan border and examined the fence work physically and made interactions with armed forces personnel deputed on the border. The parliamentarians praised the Army soldiers on safeguarding the frontiers of the country.

They lauded the efforts of Pak Army in bringing back peace and normalcy in federally administered tribal areas (FATA).

The visit/briefing was attended by MNAs Tahir Bashir Cheema, Sheikh Muhammad Akram, Surriya Asghar, lieutenant colonel (retired) Ghulam Rasul Sahi, Saeed Ahmed Khan Manais, Shaikh Fayyaz ud Din, Fehmida Mirza, Malik Muhammad Amir Dogar and Sardar Mansab Ali Dogar and Senators lieutenant general (retired) Abdul Qayyum, Mir Kabir Ahmed Muhammad Shahi and Atta ur Rehman.