Khasadars to receive salaries today in South Waziristan

By Staff Reporter
Wednesday – May 22, 2019
ISLAMABAD: The national assembly (NA) standing committee on states and frontier regions (SAFRON), on Tuesday, was informed that the due salaries, amounting to Rs 1.29 billion with arrears, to the Khasadar force of South Waziristan district will be released today by the finance ministry.

According to an official statement, NA standing committee on SAFRON, met in the federal capital, under the chairmanship of, member NA, Sajid Khan and discussed the issues being faced by the Khasadar and Lavy forces after having merged in the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa (KP) police department.

The committee also discussed the law and order situation in former federally administered tribal areas (FATA), in detail, and decided that KP home and tribal affairs department (HTAD) secretary and KP police inspector general (IG) will be invited in the next meeting to brief the committee over the issues being faced by the said forces.

The issue of alleged sale and purchase of awarding contract of development schemes in erstwhile FATA also came under discussion whereupon the committee expressed its great concern and made a sub-committee with Gul Dad Khan as the convener and Gul Zafar Khan, Sajid Hussian Turi and Ali Wazir as members.

The sub-committee will follow the terms of reference as, “To probe into the alleged sale and purchase of development schemes in erstwhile FATA as raised during meeting and to recommend steps to ensure transparency and curb corrupt practices in awarding contract of development schemes.”

It was directed that the SAFRON ministry will facilitate and assist the sub-committee in finalising its report.

KP higher education department (HED) secretary and planning and development department (PDD) chief economist also briefed the committee over the steps being taken for promotion of higher education in the merged districts of former FATA.

The meeting was attended by members NA Saleh Muhammad, Gul Dad Khan, Gul Zafar Khan, Syed Iftikhar Ul Hassan, Muhammad Afzal Khokhar, Sajid Hussian Turi, Muhamamd Jamal Ud Din and Ali Wazir along-with the officers/officials of the ministry and its attached departments.